Welcome to Amazing Grace Farm’s First Blog Post!

Hello everyone from rainy and snowy upstate New York.  This is my first foray into blogdom.  I don’t know how to use a digital camera yet, so it will be text heavy for a while.  My first goal is to be able to post some photos of lambs this year.  Jacob lambs are just so cute that I wanted to share them with everyone! 

 For those who don’t know us, my husband and I have a small farm in upstate New York.  We are the third generation on his family farm, but the first to do any farming since about 1942.  We have a small flock of Jacob sheep (for more info on these wonderful sheep see www.jsba.org), along with some angora rabbits.  We have had guard llamas off and on (currently none). 

 The name of the farm reflects our Christian beliefs: without the Lord’s amazing grace we would still be lost sinners.  My husband is a pastor of a small rural Baptist church and I am a teacher/RN at the church’s Christian academy.   We are both retired from the military.

I’ll blog more later on how this Army brat (me) ended up on a farm.  Just a warning….if you are a knitter, who starts spinning, then decides to buy some handcards, which come with some black and white fleece to play around with….be careful where it leads you!

5 Responses to “Welcome to Amazing Grace Farm’s First Blog Post!”

  1. simplydivinefibers Says:

    Yay! I get to be the first person to post a comment on your blog!

    I’m glad you have started a blog, I look forward to your posts and also photos in the future.. I have photos of your sheep and can email them to you for you to use.. and I think I have some bunny photos as well.

  2. Kimberly Says:

    yay!!!! A blog. I can’t wait to read more of your adventures 🙂

  3. Pam Says:

    Hello,
    How many Jacobs do you have and do you sell them for meat. I am really struggling with that right now. Wanting to move on in my fiber business but this has been a difficult issue for me. We have a mix of Jacobs and shetlands but planning to get some Cormo too. I love the Jacobs. The are so shy and sweet. Well it was very nice meeting you.
    Pam in Ontario

  4. Elaine Says:

    Hi there – I just discovered your blog from the link in your email today 🙂
    Looking forward to more, now that we have met your animals.
    God bless you and Steve, especially this week.

  5. julie Says:

    Oops~I posted in the about section…sorry! But still, glad to find your blog from Ravelry (remember that we are in the same VB group?).

Leave a Reply

